Thursday, July 13, 2017

New Yorkers Urged to Prepare for Severe Weather Across the State

Governor Andrew Cuomo today warned New Yorkers to take precautions as severe weather moves from the Western New York Region traveling east. A number of heavy showers and thunderstorms are expected across the entire state and the National Weather Service has issued Flash Flood Watches and Warnings throughout the Western New York, Finger Lakes, Central New York, Southern Tier, and Capital District Regions. Several areas in Western New York have already seen flash flooding in urban areas, roadways, and areas that often experience poor drainage from heavy rainfall.

At the Governor’s direction, the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services’ Office of Emergency Management regional staff have been deployed and are actively engaged with county officials and local emergency managers on the ground. The State Thruway Authority and the Department of Transpiration maintenance and operations crews are also on the ground in the affected areas, ensuring culverts and storm drains are free of debris to lessen the potential impacts from flooded roadways.

Additionally, the State Emergency Operations Center is at a Level 4 Activation – indicating enhanced monitoring with New York State Office of Emergency Management staff. The National Weather Service has also issued a Heat Advisory for New York City this afternoon with heat index values approaching 100 degrees. 

"With another round of severe weather and heat occurring throughout the state, I urge New Yorkers to stay tuned to local forecasts, and if severe weather is approaching, keep driving and outdoor activities to a minimum," Governor Cuomo said. "It is important to take every precaution necessary during extreme flooding, avoid flooded roads, and stay informed about any emergency instructions."

Current Weather Watches and Warnings:

Flood Warning: Livingston, Monroe and Ontario Counties in effect until 7:45 p.m.
Flood Warning: Genesee and Wyoming Counties in effect until 8 p.m.
Flood Warning: Cayuga Creek Near Lancaster – Erie and Wyoming Counties in effect until 9:30 p.m.

Weather Watches

Flash Flood Watch: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Northern Cayuga, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Wayne, and Wyoming Counties in effect until 8 p.m.
Flash Flood Watch: Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Madison, Northern Oneida, Onondaga, Otsego, Schuyler, Seneca, Southern Cayuga, Southern Oneida, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins and Yates Counties in effect until 8 p.m.
Flash Flood Watch: Albany, Columbia, Dutchess, Fulton, Greene, Herkimer, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, and Ulster Counties in effect until 9 p.m.
Flash Flood Watch: Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Northeast Suffolk, Northern Nassau, Northern Queens, Northern Westchester, Northwest Suffolk, Orange, Putnam, Richmond (Staten Is.), Rockland, Southeast Suffolk, Southern Nassau, Southern Queens, Southern Westchester and Southwest Suffolk Counties in effect until Friday at 6 a.m.

Weather Advisories

Flood Advisory: Tompkins, Schuyler, and Steuben Counties in effect until 4:4 p.m.
Flood Advisory: Cortland, Chenango, Cayuga, Seneca, and Yates Counties in effect until 4:45 p.m.
Flood Advisory: Otsego and Delaware Counties until 5:30 p.m.
Heat Advisory: Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens and Richmond Counties in effect until 6 p.m.

Source: Press Office, Governor Andrew M. Cuomo

No comments: